By-election information for voters

With advance voting concluded, Elections Penticton is preparing to welcome the public on general voting day on Sept. 7.

A by-election is being held to elect one Mayor and one Councillor for the remainder of the current term. Advance voting took place at Penticton City Hall on Wednesday, Aug. 28 and Thursday, Aug. 29. On the first day of advance polls, 416 of ballots were cast, and 377 ballots cast on the second day, for a two-day total of 793.

The persons nominated as mayoral candidates who will be listed on the ballot are:

  • Brian Henningson
  • Garry Litke
  • Vic Powell

The persons nominated as Councillor candidates who will be listed on the ballot are:

  • Kevin Andrews
  • Patrick Buchanan
  • Lynn Kelsey
  • Andre Martin
  • Katie Robinson

General voting day is Saturday, Sept. 7 between the hours of 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. at the Penticton Seniors' Drop-In Centre, 2965 South Main St.

If you are not already on the list of electors, a person may register at time of voting. The person must complete the application form including your date of birth or the last six digits of your social insurance number and provide two pieces of identification (at least one with a signature) to prove both residency and identity. Picture identification is not necessary.

Electors will also be required to make a declaration as follows:

  • You are 18 years of age or older
  • You are a Canadian Citizen
  • You have been a resident of B.C. for at least six months immediately preceding the day of registration
  • You have been a resident of the City of Penticton for at least 30 days immediately preceding the day of registration
  • You are not otherwise disqualified by law from voting.

Voters will need to produce two pieces of identification, one bearing a signature, to prove identity and residency. Acceptable forms of identification may include:

  • BC CareCard
  • BC Driver's Licence
  • BC ID Card from the Motor Vehicle Branch
  • Canadian Citizenship Card
  • Credit card or debit card; if a name is embossed on the card
  • City of Penticton property tax notice
  • ICBC owner's certificate of insurance and vehicle licence
  • Ministry of Employment and Income Assistance request for continued assistance form EIA0081;
  • Social Insurance Number card;
  • Utility bill.

If you have no ID showing your address, you will be asked to sign a Declaration of Residency form at the voting place.

Non-resident property owners may register at the voting place. You must produce proof that you are the registered owner of the property. If you are one of two or more owners, you must also demonstrate in writing that you have the consent of the majority of all the owners to vote as the non-resident property elector. You may get consent of the majority of property owners in advance by filling out a non-resident Property Elector Consent Form. A non-resident elector must also provide two pieces of identification as outlined above.

A shuttle service will be provided from the bus stop located on Martin Street at Lakeshore Drive West (across the street from Gyro Park). The shuttle will leave every hour on the hour commencing at 8 a.m., with the final shuttle leaving at 7 p.m.

Mail ballots must be received by the Chief Election Officer before the close of voting on general voting day. Please contact Elections Penticton for particulars on mail ballot voting.

For more information, please contact Elections Penticton at 250-490-2400 or visit the webpage.